Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: I somehow created a map with exactly one flux-stone site.  (Read 1466 times)

kierkkadon

• Bay Watcher
  • Ich will in Beifall untergehen.
    • View Profile
I somehow created a map with exactly one flux-stone site.
« on: September 18, 2012, 02:47:43 pm »

...and that site was over (under?) the ocean.

Guess I'll re-worldgen.

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

I did my normal embark-site search (Flux: Yes; Aquifer: No; River: Yes) and returned a partial with no flux. Retried with N/A for Aquifer, still no sites. Finally did one with just the Flux requirement, and it returned this one.
Bergmann storniert Trinken: Unterbrochen durch Carp.
I'm pretty sure the Elves like it deep in the dark passage, if you get what I mean.
In Soviet Russia, microcline strikes you!

waldo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: I somehow created a map with exactly one flux-stone site.
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2012, 02:58:47 pm »

i've never found the finder tool to be very reliable however i have noticed that the premium flux sites have greatly diminished also, mostly because the stone types are hidden and all that's left is flux, shallow metal(s), and deep metal(s) to work with.

Ki11aGhost

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2012, 04:25:20 pm »

I believe the flux finder is broken. Just pick a site with good metals and hope you luck out and get flux. Currently have a fortress with limestone that wasn't labeled with it on worldgen.

Very late edit: Said "one" instead of "a site" and it was bugging me.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2012, 04:45:41 pm by Ki11aGhost »

LoSboccacc

• Bay Watcher
  • Σὺν Ἀθηνᾷ καὶ χεῖρα κίνει
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2012, 04:28:25 pm »

if you put metals everywhere as frequence, it reduces the chance of a flux site being generated.

kierkkadon

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile