Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6

Author Topic: Awesomenauts  (Read 6506 times)

Levi

• Bay Watcher
  • Is a fish.
    • View Profile
Awesomenauts
« on: August 20, 2012, 12:05:22 pm »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2CJET-NYGJk

Steam Site:  http://store.steampowered.com/app/204300/

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

I started playing this over the weekend, and its been a lot of fun so I figured I'd share a bit.  Awesomenauts is a 2d platformer Moba-style game currently on Steam.  Now, normally when I see the word Moba my eyes instantly glaze over and I look for something more interesting to read, but the cartoony style + platformer managed to convince me to look into this game a bit.

It has no microtransactions, and the gameplay essentially involves two teams of 3 players trying to destroy the enemy turrets that are blocking the path to the enemies energy core(or something).  Destroy the energy core and you win the game.  The turrets will eat your face off if you fight them directly though, so you need to stand behind and defend little team-coloured robots that will attract the turret's gunfire.  This will work great until gecko with a knife or a purple girl on a surfboard will come along and murder you.  :)

It has less characters than other Mobas, but that probably means its a bit more balanced.  The characters are:

Clunk:  A big hardy robot that can take a lot of hits and has the ability to explode, doing a little damage to itself and a lot of damage to anyone else caught in the radius.  Works well with Voltar it seems.

Coco Nebulon:  Purple alien girl on a surfboard.  I don't quite understand how she plays, but I do know that almost every time I fight her I die horribly. 

Derpl Zork:  Mentally slow slug-like alien in a powerful mech.  The mech can turn itself into a turret.  I don't know much about him either.