Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Pumping power  (Read 3152 times)

redrowen

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Pumping power
« on: July 15, 2012, 02:01:50 pm »

Hello all!

Quick question regarding pumping power.

I need to create a stack pump that will reach close to 27 floors deep.  It appears as though a Windmill (40 power) will not be near enough to power this monstrosity.  About 4 floors will be vert axles.

Any suggestions on what I would want to do to handle such a project?  I was thinking maybe I could use a single pump on the top floor with 2 water wheels instead of the Windmill, that may work better?

* Edit: Would it be possible to attach multiple windmills all to the same vert axle (create a huge windmill farm so to speak) that just pumps a ton of power down?

I'm still pretty new to DF, not to sure how to handle this best :P

Any suggestions welcome!
« Last Edit: July 15, 2012, 02:47:45 pm by redrowen »

Dwarfler

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Pumping power
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2012, 02:49:16 pm »

Well, screw pumps each require 10 power.  Windmills provide 40 power at most depending on weather conditions on your map, so for a 27-level pump stack windmills are going to be totally impractical.  You'll need to chain at least three water wheels together (they generate 100 power but also consume 10 for a net gain of 90), probably four to be on the safe side since you'll presumably have some axles and gears and whatnot.  Also if this is your first big waterworks project, be sure you save before beginning and periodically throughout.  They can seem simple on paper, but when you get into actually doing it step-by-step you will find there are a million places where you can do something slightly wrong and screw the whole thing up.  Good luck!
Why do I like Dwarf Fortress so much?  It's hard to learn, harder to play, and downright impossible to win.