Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Which version to start with?H  (Read 1559 times)

thesuker

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Which version to start with?H
« on: June 11, 2012, 04:39:49 am »

Hi, I'm a complete noobie on DF, and I see there are quite a few versions of DF.  I've read the latest one is unstable.  Which is the latest stable version available?  Also, while I was following the noobie tutorial, when I digged the stairs down 3 levels, on one of the levels the up-down stairs where marked with red crosses and dwarfs wouldnt go down and dig up the space I designated on the bottom level.  I tried building the stairs with b menu, and they were built, but no dwarves went down.

caddybear

• Bay Watcher
  • Elf Supporter
    • View Profile
Re: Which version to start with?H
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2012, 05:03:57 am »

Where did you read that the latest one is unstable?
And then did ARMOK say, the east is the holiest of directions, and thou shouldst not stand there lest thou be strucketh down by my holiest of beards. And then did the dorfs did say, we shall build from the west, for more do we fear the beard of ARMOK than the strike of the elephant.

Laurin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2012, 05:22:27 am »

The crosses are the usual representation of digged out up/down-stairs (at least with tiles). The stairs image is used only for constructed or one-way-stairs iirc.

If you construct stairs on top of digged-out stairs, you will block access.

thesuker

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2012, 05:57:54 am »

Was using the mayday tileset that came in the tutorial, and the normal crosses are a light brown color, while the ones im refering to are red, and dwarves wont go down to dig what I designated (the wall around the red crosses is silty clay wall)