Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: (SPOILERS) Into The Breach!  (Read 8422 times)

Sabreur

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
(SPOILERS) Into The Breach!
« on: May 13, 2012, 01:28:55 am »

About to breach hell for the first time!  Well, technically my second - the first doesn't count due to an odd glitch that resulted in hell being completely empty.  In any case, I thought it would be fun to post on the forums as it happens.

Now, I originally thought there was no way I'd ever play DF, so I spoilered myself like mad by reading the wiki, the forums, and the various "Let's Play" games out there.  So I'm not going into this completely blind, even through it's my first attempt.

To keep this fun, I've decided to limit myself.  No cave-ins, obsidian traps, checkerboards, webbed cage traps, etc.  I've also limited myself to 'normal' training only - sparring and executing prisoners.  No danger rooms.  Between this and various casualties, my squads are a mix of skilled warriors and fresh recruits, with a handful of legendaries.  The exception is my marksdwarves, which are almost all legendary.

I've got the following preparations:

1.  40 soldiers, out of a fortress population of 103.  All are carrying masterwork steel weapons and armor, except for the six with silver hammers.  The number would be higher, but I've had an odd problem with my soldiers going insane due to nakedness, despite the fact that I'm drowning in fresh-made masterwork clothing and their fellow soldiers (in the same squad!) don't have any problems.
2.  An absurdly long corridor leading into the side of an adamantite spire.
3.  A set of three masterwork ballistae behind fortifications at the end of the corridor, manned by three legendary siege operators.
4.  A stack of 100 steel-tipped ballistae bolts.