Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Food Management Help  (Read 2006 times)

Tyu48

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Food Management Help
« on: May 08, 2012, 04:52:31 pm »

Okay, so I am fairly new at DF and after about 10 losses and forfits I realized what my major problem was. Starvation. Yes, food and time management. I was wondering if anyone had any simple or maybe some not so simple ways that this noob could try out, in order to somewhat succed in DF.

Thanks for the help.

GhostDwemer

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Food Management Help
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2012, 04:57:50 pm »

Farms produce so much food that a single farmer working 5-6 3x3 plots can produce enough food and booze to feed your whole fort. Find a soil layer and fig out a room for farms first thing. You can easily have a farm producing plants, a still brewing them and a kitchen cooking them by the start of the first summer. Make a butcher and tanner workshop and slaughter your draft animals. Bring egg layers and build nest boxes.

Martin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2012, 05:32:12 pm »

To refine GhostDwemer's response a bit.

New players will run into two problems with the default embark.

1) Everyone hauls - which prevents other things from happening as urgently as they need.
2) You run out of barrels/pots.

This is a bit overkill, but it's a good habit to establish until you are consistently getting your food up and running: