Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Anthropology project! Responses appreciated.  (Read 4386 times)

skrimshander

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Anthropology project! Responses appreciated.
« on: April 12, 2012, 09:35:29 pm »

hey all,
I'm a college student and sometimes-Dwarf Fortress-player, and for an anthropology class, I've decided to look at the creation of what you could call game narratives (Boatmurdered is an obvious example) in the DF community. My primary interests are actually more in the area of literature/film/new media, so this definitely isn't a "look at these weird nerds" type of thing. Below are a few questions; feel free to critique them or add any further explanation.

1. How often do you play? Is Dwarf Fortress a fairly consistent activity or do you go in spurts?

2. Given that this is a strictly single-player game (succession games notwithstanding), how do you interact with other players?

3. Do you ever play/discuss the game with friends in real life?

4.Do you feel a sense of narrative—a "story unfolding" if you will—while playing or is that something to actively seek out?

5. Do you augment your own playing experience in any way (graphic tilesets, outside music, etc.)?

6. Do you create and share your own DF stories/art?

7. How do you respond to stories/narratives/illustrations that other people have posted?

8. Besides the fact that multiple fortresses can exist in the same generated world, do you feel a kind of historical cohesiveness between multiple games?

9. What other interests do you have? Books/movies/games/fields of expertise?

Thanks!

Ghills

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Anthropology project! Responses appreciated.
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 09:44:05 pm »

Community Games and Stories is what you're looking for.  Also Other Games, there's an LP subforum.