Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Newbie guide please help  (Read 2537 times)

Clouded_scythe

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • http://STILL BURNING
Newbie guide please help
« on: May 18, 2008, 01:08:00 am »

Hello I am a shamless newb and would like some help on a few things i cant to save both my own and my dwarves lives seem to figure out these questions
1. i cant find the underground river to save my life.
2. The starting area i ...well start out in seems rather small compared to the MASSIVE areas i have seen on the internet how do i expand.
3. Z Axis you say what is that and how do i use it.
4. WHy is there a big C killing all my dwarves like they where legos to lava.
5. How do i set other oders it only lets me check the ones that are already set i want one dwarf to only take the crap my miners dig up to stock piles

Samyotix

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie guide please help
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2008, 03:02:00 am »

1. i cant find the underground river to save my life.

Same here. Keep digging :-)
(I have no idea at what level to expect the river, but I know it's there ...)

2. The starting area i ...well start out in seems rather small compared to the MASSIVE areas i have seen on the internet how do i expand.

When selecting the area to embark, press Shift and U/K/M/H to resize the area.

3. Z Axis you say what is that and how do i use it.

It's the third dimension: up and down.
To use it, erm, I'm on a different keyboard layout probably. Hit the key, you see the level above or below the one you saw before. The X Cursor is really useful here: Say you want to build stairs down.
Place Down stair, press "Z-1" key, place Up/Down stair, press "Z-1 key", build Up stair. You just connected 3 z-levels      :)

4. WHy is there a big C killing all my dwarves like they where legos to lava.