Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Hello Everyone, Question.  (Read 2904 times)

DirtPoacher

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Hello Everyone, Question.
« on: February 07, 2012, 05:50:45 pm »

I am relatively new to Dwarf Fortress but I am determined to learn to play because this game so far has been pretty amazing. I have created a small fortress, gotten my wood and stone stockpiles, made a couple of workshops and pastures. I currently have 4 dwarf's capable of mining, but the thing is usually only two of them mine and the other two just sit around. It aggrivates me to see a large job needing to be done and I only have two that get up and work. What is wrong with the other two dwarf's?
We enjoy warmth because we have been cold.
We appreciate light because we have been in darkness.
By the same token, we can experience joy because we have known sadness.
-David Weatherford

Cyroth

• Bay Watcher
  • [FABULOUS]
    • View Profile
Re: Hello Everyone, Question.
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 05:52:39 pm »

Do you have picks for those other two dwarfs?

A dwarf with the mining labor enabled clings to his pick and will not let go of it until mining is disabled again, so if you have 4 miners you will need 4 picks. They will not pass them around to form some kind of working shifts.
Demons are preferable to ravens.
A noble just suffered a genuine unfortunate accident.
Has that ever happened before?

DirtPoacher

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2012, 05:56:17 pm »

Thats it! Hah! I didn't even think of having picks XDD Thanks! Goodness the depth of this game is just amazing and I feel hooked. Just have to figure everything out though lol
-David Weatherford

Cyroth

• Bay Watcher
  • [FABULOUS]
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2012, 05:59:38 pm »

If you have questions don't be afraid to ask.