Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Heroic fighter dwarves are grumpuses  (Read 524 times)

Kepa

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Heroic fighter dwarves are grumpuses
« on: September 12, 2006, 03:23:00 am »

Military heroes and legendary skill guards are a bunch of stubborn jerks.  There, I said it.

In one Dwarf Fortress game I got a bunch of swordmasters and a legendary axe dwarf.  They got to these positions by training as off-duty military and guards.  Then I was ready to fight the demons, so I tried to change them to military types so that I could  get them ready.

<Axey> I DUN WANNA MILITARY!  HEROES DO NOT WORK! (military assignment option doesn't even show up)

Same problem when I tried to make a swordmaster fortress guard into a royal guard, or a military master into a guard.  The military and guard assignments don't show up, because it says that heroes do not work.

It makes sense that you can't make a legendary axeman into a farmer.  It doesn't seem intentional that you can't make a guard into a military unit when you need to prepare for a big battle.

karnot

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Heroic fighter dwarves are grumpuses
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2006, 03:29:00 am »

What about royal guards ? Why should a legendary axeman be a common guard, when he can be so much more...right ?

Kepa

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2006, 04:28:00 am »

That would make sense, if you could change legendary normal fortress guards into royal guards.  I think they're just accidentally too stubborn as a result of the bit that prevents them from being turned back into laborers.

Aquillion

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2006, 08:38:00 pm »