Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Do animals in cages grow up?  (Read 3264 times)

Dr.Propz

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Do animals in cages grow up?
« on: December 28, 2011, 02:33:13 am »

The title is the question

I'm curious, as I'm locking away all the puppies and kittens away until they grow into adults

geail

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Do animals in cages grow up?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2011, 02:39:23 am »

Yes, and grazers still need to feed.  Luckily, both cats and dogs are carnivores so they can survive from birth to death of old age in a cage.

Dr.Propz

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2011, 02:43:08 am »

Do they eat each other? Or can they go on forever without eating? Also, how long does the average dog/cat take to grow up?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm still rather new to this game

ayoriceball

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2011, 02:54:27 am »

I don't think they eat anything but I'm also unsure. I have yet to see a dog on a chain die of hunger.

Cats take less than 2 years to become an adult, same with dogs, but to reach a larger size you need to let them grow for a bit longer. That is true with all animals. Kill a turkey as soon as it becomes an adult, you won't get much. Wait for a year and it gets some meat on its bones.
Don't dwarven ladies know they're beautiful the way they are? They don't need to starve themselves to look like those elven bitches.
"Tigermen are lazy and worthless... but not MY friend, Grroawarul."

Callista

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2011, 02:57:52 am »

They take a year or less to grow to adult. Though, I think if you wait another year you get more meat off 'em. And animals in cages can also die of old age.

Animals in cages don't fight; animals in pastures do, if they're crowded too close.