Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: 1st Fortress, accidentally flooded, HELP! (Im a noob)  (Read 843 times)

Goodwin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
1st Fortress, accidentally flooded, HELP! (Im a noob)
« on: July 09, 2011, 08:21:22 pm »

So I was trying to irrigate some land, so I dug into a small pond (underground), and the water is out of control! How can I get it out?

Girlinhat

• Bay Watcher
  • [PREFSTRING:large ears]
    • View Profile
Re: 1st Fortress, accidentally flooded, HELP! (Im a noob)
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2011, 08:28:37 pm »

Did you install a floodgate?  If no, do damage control quickly.  Place walls/floors to stop the flooding as far as you can, and then ignore that area of the fort.

Remember, death is a learning experience, and pain is your tutor.  Learn from your mistakes so the next fort will do better.  Many times the lesson learned cannot be applied to the current fort, as the lesson is death and debauchery.

ThatAussieGuy

• Bay Watcher
  • King of the HFS & only man to win v0.31.25
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2011, 09:43:20 pm »

Drop a channel in from above one of the flooded tunnels and get a screw pump going to channel the water somewhere.  You might want to dig out a reservoir for it all.  Roughly the same size as the original pond.

Fredd

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2011, 12:08:52 am »

If it is a small pond, the water will eventually evaporate once it spreads out to a depth of 1. If your excavated area is small, just dig out a area to let it spread so it will drain. Once that is done, go wall up the breach in the ponds wall. Least you did not breach a river or stream. ;)
 Also, constructing doors are good insurance against boo boos involving water or magma.