Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Profession-specific burrows/beds/rooms  (Read 544 times)

Kestrel

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Profession-specific burrows/beds/rooms
« on: May 31, 2011, 01:48:35 pm »

Much like we have the ability to set a workshop to be usable only by dwarfs with the right skill levels, or how stockpiles allow you to move items to specific rooms based on specific criteria, would it not make sense to be able to assign dwarfs to different rooms by profession?  By default, everyone would maintain their current behavior, where they just sleep in the nearest free bed.

My reasoning for this is that if my magma forges are 50 to 150 z levels beneath everything else, short of assigning each furnace operator to a specific bed, it would make more sense to just sort it out by profession.  This would drastically reduce tedium IMO.

Thoughts?
Goblin 6 (to Goblin 7): I heard that I died.
Goblin 7 (to Goblin 6): I died.
Goblin 6 (to Goblin 7): It was inevitable.
Goblin 7 (to Goblin 6): It was inevitable.

Bohandas

• Bay Watcher
  • Discordia Vobis Com Et Cum Spiritum
    • View Profile
Re: Profession-specific burrows/beds/rooms
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2011, 03:31:03 pm »

This is a good idea.
NEW Petition to stop the anti-consumer, anti-worker, Trans-Pacific Partnership agreement
What is TPP
----------------------
Remember, no one can tell you who you are except an emotionally unattached outside observer making quantifiable measurements.
----------------------
Έπαινος Ερις

Darkmere

• Bay Watcher
  • Exploding me won't bring back your honey.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2011, 11:51:50 pm »