Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Pressure Plates  (Read 1137 times)

Darkmere

• Bay Watcher
  • Exploding me won't bring back your honey.
    • View Profile
Pressure Plates
« on: May 09, 2011, 10:29:17 pm »

So I'm trying to make a self-regulating water reactor core, which works by way of a pressure plate that opens the water feed floodgate when in less than 6 deep water.

I've never used pressure plates before, and the wiki seems spotty about this particular issue. I constructed a floodgate and linked it to a pressure plate that should send the open signal from 0-6 water as a test. Floodgate doesn't open. Do I have to manually open it once? Am I setting the pressure plate improperly?
And then, they will be weaponized. Like everything in this game, from kittens to babies, everything is a potential device of murder.
So if baseless speculation is all we have, we might as well treat it like fact.

aepurniet

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Pressure Plates
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2011, 11:00:49 pm »

This is not needed, you can make a water reactor without pressure plates.  A water pump can pump water up, and as it falls it powers a water wheel.  (Well not quite, it falls, then floats to the intake of the water pump, powering the water wheel in the process) on a phone here, so not nice diagrams.

I do want to test your suggestion though, I think it will be tricky with the delays introduced by floodgates and the plates though.  Getting enouugh current to move might be a problem too, as I imagine the water levels will eventually stabalize. I don't think it would work.

Darkmere

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2011, 11:20:28 pm »