Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: The 7 miner experiment  (Read 711 times)

Slythe

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
The 7 miner experiment
« on: April 26, 2011, 09:14:16 pm »

Nothing crazy, I'm no expert of the game, still learning the new version since I last played 40d.  I decided to embark with 7 proficient miners (though wholly unnecessary) and see how long it would take to either dig a moat or remove all the ramps around the entire perimeter of the map to create a solid defense where there was only one 3 tile wide choke point of entry (except for flyers of course), and I was surprised at how quickly they got the job done.  I screwed up a couple times in trapping dwarves on isolated squares among other things, so accounting for that, I would've probably been finished with the job by the end of early spring, so basically it took only 1 month to seal off the entire perimeter of the map other than 1 specific entry point.

Frelock

• Bay Watcher
  • Dabbling Philosopher
    • View Profile
Re: The 7 miner experiment
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2011, 09:27:06 pm »

Oh yea, that's always my first order of business; channel out a two-tile wide moat, then channel the side nearest the fort again so you get:
     ___  ___
       █▲ █
outside██▲█inside
       ████

(side view)

Guaranteed to keep non-flyers out, and guaranteed to not get any miners stuck.  It's always done by early summer(mid-summer if the second layer is stone), and give a good amount of experience to the average miner.
All generalizations are false....including this one.

wuphonsreach

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2011, 01:06:33 am »

Oh yea, that's always my first order of business; channel out a two-tile wide moat, then channel the side nearest the fort again so you get:
     ___  ___
       █▲ █
outside██▲█inside
       ████

(side view)