Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Dwarf Fortress noob here.  (Read 4824 times)

Sphalerite

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • Drew's Robots and stuff
Re: Dwarf Fortress noob here.
« Reply #15 on: April 11, 2011, 11:36:03 am »

I keep getting randomly spaced out "A part of the cavern has collapsed" messages from the same place. I have never been to that area, so I am wondering if there is a forgotten beast down there destroying stuff and causing small cave-ins. Is that possible?

Forgotten beasts don't cause cave-ins.  What you may have is an underground sea flowing into a hole in the magma sea.  This causes obsidian to form, which immediately collapses and generates a cave-in message.  If this is the case I recommend abandoning and starting over, it's nearly impossible to stop the constant caveins from ruining your embark.  It's also possible that you have mud floating in mid-air and trees are growing and then collapsing when they reach full size, but those tend to produce cave-in messages less often, every season or so.
Any intelligent fool can make things bigger and more complex... It takes a touch of genius --- and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction.

Sting_Auer

• Bay Watcher
  • [LIKES_WAR_DOG_HORDES]
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: April 11, 2011, 11:41:34 am »

I don't think I am going to abandon this save. This save as the most stone I have ever gotten before, as well as gems, but it does have an aquifer I think.

I am sure that I can stop the cave-ins. Also, it isn't too much of an issue. It's a decent distance from my base. I could probably tunnel down there and pump water into the river. It would just flow away, so it shouldn't be an issue.
Thank you everyone for the help! I've since flooded the fortress I was working on and now have a new one going up.

Sting_Auer

• Bay Watcher
  • [LIKES_WAR_DOG_HORDES]
    • View Profile