Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Question About Poison  (Read 687 times)

Rastaphanu

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Question About Poison
« on: April 04, 2011, 02:36:09 pm »

I have a question that I feel is kinda stupid... Can you make weapons or traps (possibly using said weapons) that cause syndromes to the victim? If you can, would someone mind explaining to me how?

I'm pretty new to DF modding. I have looked over alot of stuff but not actually implemented much of it. Most of my attempts at modding end with a creatures head falling off because it wasn't attached to it's body or something.
Quote from: DF Wiki
Eating is believed to cause noise within 1 or 2 tiles; probably 1. It is unknown whether the noise radiates from the eating dwarf or his food.

AdeleneDawner

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Question About Poison
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2011, 09:02:34 pm »

Generally speaking, no.

I've heard of some interesting things being done with arrows - make a special material that boils at body temperature but not at room temperature, and give it an inhaled syndrome, and make arrows of it, and the arrows will deliver the syndrome when they stick in something, I think - but regular weapons and trap components can't deliver poison.
Dying (ceasing to be alive) is also not a Moodable skill. Even totally unskilled Dwarves seem to do it correctly.

Kipi

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Question About Poison
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2011, 05:08:07 am »

There is another trick, though it requires changing the init -files more often.