Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Dwarfy Things  (Read 2065 times)

JacenHanLovesLegos

• Bay Watcher
  • A medium-sized creature prone to great ambition.
    • View Profile
Re: Dwarfy Things
« Reply #15 on: January 27, 2011, 12:37:49 pm »

They are. Kinda like the quote in your sig.
I read about someone that collapsed half their fort into the magma sea because of a misplaced channel.
As it turns out, the pen was in fact a poor choice for melee combat in comparison to the sword.
So I just started playing this game and I accidentally nuked the moon.

Zaerosz

• Bay Watcher
  • ☼sperm whale leather thong☼
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 27, 2011, 07:36:40 pm »

Made a 100z execution tower/pit with the bottom floor open to the magma sea. Pitted a goblin. Pulled a lever. The lever extended the retractable bridge over the bottom of the pit. Imagine falling 95 floors and staring at the magma waiting at the bottom of the hole, then suddenly FLOOR OUT OF NOWHERE and you hit it and explode. I found his head on the balcony 20 levels up from the bottom.
くコ:彡

ElthMysterius

• Bay Watcher
  • Adequate Musician
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: January 27, 2011, 08:27:40 pm »

I am currently building an execution tower that also serves as my gatehouse. The bottom of the tower contains the passage which all caravans and invaders must pass through, flanked by walls of fortifications from which archers watch arrivals.

This ensures that any visitor's first impression of the fortress is of a hallway drenched in blood and gore, while wary marksdwarves leer at them from behind rows of fortifications, crossbows aimed and ready. To let them know WE ARE NOT TO BE TRIFLED WITH.
"Strike the earth!"
"A section of the cavern has collapsed"
"Your fortress has crumbled to its end"
Yeah, in the future you probably shouldn't strike the earth quite so hard

Girlinhat