Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Major Noob looking for help!!  (Read 721 times)

AQuebman

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Major Noob looking for help!!
« on: January 13, 2011, 01:07:15 pm »

Hello all!  First I want to say I have been reading the wiki and the complete newbie guide despite the fact its outdated. 

My questions more pertain to the look and setup of the game.  There are so many mods and tilesets compatabile with differing versions I want to know what are some popular ones up to date eith the current version?

Also the stories and the capabilities of this game are awesome but I find myself hoping theres some sort of better 2d interface that doesnt look like jumbled programming code.  I tried the total noob set but everything seems so far away its hard to even see the pictures of the dwarves.  I messed with the ini file to no avail.  Would messing with my computers resolution help to make it appear closer and clearer?  My current resolution is 1024 x 768.

Any advice or suggestions on what sounds like an awesome game is appreciated.

AQuebman

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Major Noob looking for help!!
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2011, 01:13:46 pm »

Another question I just thought of.  What is the difference between legends and fortress mode?  I want the legends in my game but playing fortress gameplay is what interests me the most.

Spreggo

• Bay Watcher
  • A vile force of darkness has arrived!
    • View Profile
    • skullsprout games
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2011, 01:18:03 pm »

Check out the Lazy Newb Pack. It contains multiple tilesets and you can switch between them easily. It also has all utilities you might want to use, especiall Dwarf Therapist.

Spreggo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • skullsprout games
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2011, 01:19:00 pm »