Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12]

Author Topic: The Transhuman Ozymandias - Realistically Creepy  (Read 10656 times)

Soadreqm

• Bay Watcher
  • I'm okay with this. I'm okay with a lot of things.
    • View Profile
Re: The Transhuman Ozymandias - Realistically Creepy
« Reply #165 on: October 20, 2010, 11:28:28 am »

The sociological problems are *the* obstacle to what you want, if you haven't been reading this thread at all.

Really? Because from what I've been reading, it seems that the scenario where the rich are immortal demigods living in space and the poor don't even have clean drinking water is not only possible, but alarmingly probable. :P

smigenboger

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #166 on: October 20, 2010, 12:16:49 pm »

I guess the two-baby limit, with exceptions for triplets, etc, is too insane?
While talking to AJ:
In college I studied the teachings of Socrates and Aeropostale

Bauglir

• Bay Watcher
  • Let us make Good
    • View Profile
« Reply #167 on: October 20, 2010, 03:40:17 pm »

-snip-
« Last Edit: June 09, 2015, 09:15:48 pm by Bauglir »
In the days when Sussman was a novice, Minsky once came to him as he sat hacking at the PDP-6.
“What are you doing?”, asked Minsky. “I am training a randomly wired neural net to play Tic-Tac-Toe” Sussman replied. “Why is the net wired randomly?”, asked Minsky. “I do not want it to have any preconceptions of how to play”, Sussman said.
Minsky then shut his eyes. “Why do you close your eyes?”, Sussman asked his teacher.
“So that the room will be empty.”
At that moment, Sussman was enlightened.

Aqizzar

• Bay Watcher
  • There is no 'U'.
    • View Profile
« Reply #168 on: October 20, 2010, 03:51:05 pm »

The sociological problems are *the* obstacle to what you want, if you haven't been reading this thread at all.