Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: How deadly is Infection?  (Read 6589 times)

NewoTigra

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
How deadly is Infection?
« on: August 05, 2010, 05:56:13 am »

In my last migrant wave I got a Dwarf with Highmaster Bone setting and Suturing. Naturally, he is now a doctor and I would much like to keep him, as I have no other skilled bone setters. However, the complication is that I was ambushed by Kobolds while the migrants ran to the fort entrance.
The kobolds were dealt with, but not before injuring several of the migrants. My new doctor has a broken leg, among other things. All other injuries have been treated and are fine, but I noticed the wound still shows up as untreated, as has no treatment scheduled. And is infected.
So, my question is, How deadly is infection?
Is there any way I can treat it?

I really want this dwarf to survive, mainly for his skills, but partially so I can maintain 'House' as a permanent fortress resident.

thijser

• Bay Watcher
  • You to cut down a tree in order to make an axe!
    • View Profile
Re: How deadly is Infection?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2010, 06:08:42 am »

A infection can be pretty deadly. I have the feeling that having your dwarfs do nothing can sometimes increase the chance of survivability. But I don't think any research has been done.
I'm not a native English speaker. Feel free to point out grammar/spelling mistakes. This way I can learn better English.

doctorspoof

• Bay Watcher
  • [FIREBREATH]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2010, 06:09:49 am »

Generally, if a dwarf has an infection, he will eventually succumb unless you manage to clean it, you might need soap to do it more successfully (AFAIR, water only has a 'chance' of cleaning the wound, but soap + water will always clean it, or something).

I think anyway, don't hold me to it :)