Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Any way to trigger a siege?  (Read 893 times)

delphey

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Any way to trigger a siege?
« on: April 20, 2010, 07:17:57 pm »

I'm a noob; its going into the third year of my first 'test' fort and I kinda feel like starting over.  But, I haven't had a single ambush or siege to test my mettle.

Anybody know how to make one happen on command?

GaxkangtheUnbound

• Bay Watcher
  • To the skies!
    • View Profile
Re: Any way to trigger a siege?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2010, 07:50:16 pm »

I'm a noob; its going into the third year of my first 'test' fort and I kinda feel like starting over.  But, I haven't had a single ambush or siege to test my mettle.

Anybody know how to make one happen on command?
Find some very valuable material. For example: gold, platinum, etc.
Build a forge to make those native rocks into metal
Sell.
EDIT:You could also P.O. the elves/humans, causing them  to attack.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2010, 07:57:28 pm by GaxkangtheUnbound »
Proud of my heritage.
Prepare to lose your sanity.

PopeRichardCorey

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2010, 07:54:27 pm »

For a siege, I'm pretty sure you need 80 dwarves, too.
And when you build your fortress walls from the bones of skeletal elephants, slain my weapons forged from melted goblin plunder, fed on cattle that graze on grass that blinks.  Then, you will know dwarfdom.

Coidzure Dreams

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2010, 07:58:48 pm »

expand your fort, make lots of swag, attract immigrants by doing so, and finally attract gobbos by doing so.

Strant

• Bay Watcher
  • MagmaMan Carpenter
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2010, 08:00:07 pm »

Do you have a population of 80?  Have you messed around with the init.txt file? Specifically did you turn sieges off via [INVADERS:NO]?