Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Ice prison  (Read 1204 times)

smigenboger

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Ice prison
« on: April 20, 2010, 10:04:51 pm »

So...can oceans freeze?

If so, it would be possible to build a small prison out of ice in the middle of the ocean during the winter, and when spring comes around...
While talking to AJ:
In college I studied the teachings of Socrates and Aeropostale

Fullmoon

• Bay Watcher
  • Elfless
    • View Profile
Re: Ice prison
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2010, 01:06:16 am »

a) construction are indestructible.
b) If you build it without support, it just cavein.
c) To build support, you will need to dig a foundation pit 2X size of ocean depth. During ONE season. Or else. See aquifers in wiki.
d) Prison is useless. Planting on sea floor, though...

e) It is dwarvenly enough. DO IT.
Quote from: Fishbulb
I got an artifact cave spider silk sock this morning. It's worth 5,720 dwarfbucks, and it doesn't menace with spikes of anything.
Dwarfs don't have issues.  Dwarfs merely have inspiration for the legendary artifact they will one day make.
Quote from: Urist son of Urist
Considering the general state of DF, I think Einstein and Newton are already rotating fast enough that you could hook them up to pumps and use them to kill Elves.

Max White

• Bay Watcher
  • Still not hollowed!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2010, 01:25:34 am »

Better yet, wait untll the sea freezes, then turn weather off, this will make the sea permanently frozen, untill you finish construction.

Then wait until summer, and once again turn of temperature, so you have a prisen in the middle of the ocean.

Better yet, so it with an entire fort!
Better yet, do it with a modded in flying race!
BETTER YET! I WILL REGARDLESS!

Neoskel

• Bay Watcher
  • Read or the owl will eat you.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2010, 01:41:08 am »