Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Lazy Newb Pack Up and Running?  (Read 2204 times)

wags747

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Lazy Newb Pack Up and Running?
« on: February 15, 2012, 08:34:42 pm »

Hi I am a lazy newb. Can a really cool dwarf get it up and running for me? For the new Version!!!!

=)

wags747

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Lazy Newb Pack Up and Running?
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2012, 08:35:15 pm »

For the new version!!!!!!!

Plasson

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2012, 08:51:49 pm »

you may want to wait until enough utilities and graphics sets are updated to the new version before you start asking. 

Molay

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2012, 08:57:33 am »

At this time, we have quite some utilities running. Pheobus, Mayday and Ironhand are up to date as far as I've seen, and most importantly, Therapist is working again (aside migration wave issue, which is a minor annoyance really). Personally, I don't see the need for LNP to get those basic things working. Soundsense is also quite easy to get running.

I'd say there is only need for the LNP when other utilities are working, like stonesense, DFHack, etc.

If you want to install it manually, it's fairly easy.
Most of the tilesets provide you with a pre-installed version. Which means you download a version of DF with said tileset already installed. (go to the forum and look up your favorite tileset, then download it).
Tileset done.
Run dwarf fortress once. Close.
Download soundsense. Extract it somewhere, the run it. It will prompt you to find the gamelog.txt file which is in your DF folder. Easy so far, isn't it?
Soundsense done.
Therapist is even easier. Download it and extract it to your main DF folder. Run it. Done.

Start DF, Soundsense and Therapist and you're good to go.