Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Getting stuff.  (Read 1057 times)

RandomNumberGenerator

• Bay Watcher
  • Nope.
    • View Profile
Getting stuff.
« on: February 02, 2010, 01:24:57 am »

I tried Adventure Mode about half a year ago, didn't like it much and went back to regular DF. Since I couldn't wait for the new version however, I started playing it again. And I have some questions.

1) What is the best way to train Wresting, with the least amount of user input? The best way's I've found is to choke something's throat, which does raise it quite a bit, but also kills the creature. Grabbing other parts(at least the ones I've tried) doesn't do anything.

2) Can corpses be used for anything? I tried selling them to a shopkeeper, but he just said "it's nice stuff isn't it? What are you willing to trade?"

3) Can you pick stuff like berries from the winderness? All I've been able to do is light things on fire. Which doesn't seem to have much effect.

4) What is a good skill level to train up to before embarking on a quest to slay, say, a giant?
The end of the world is more fun then I expected.

Euld

• Bay Watcher
  • There's coffee in that nebula ಠ_ರೃ
    • View Profile
Re: Getting stuff.
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2010, 04:08:11 am »

1. Easiest way is to strangle a zombie after breaking all its limbs.  Zombies can't suffocate, so you can train to legendary wrestling on it.  Although, I've never managed to find a zombie to do this, so instead, I just wrestle anything else to death instead of finishing it off with my weapon of choice.  To wrestle something quickly, press c to open your combat preferences (while in adventurer mode) and press a until the top option says "close combat."  You'll perform a random wrestling move when you attack this way, and if you happen to get into a chokehold, you'll repeatedly strangle.