Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Living in mountains  (Read 712 times)

Nobbins

• Bay Watcher
  • Dustland
    • View Profile
Living in mountains
« on: December 23, 2009, 10:20:14 pm »

I'm fairly new to the game, and I started a fortress in the mountains by accident. I'm doing good so far, but I realize I'll run out of food soon, and that mah dwarves will have to sleep on the floor. The mountain I'm in has -no- surface soil at all. Is there any way to survive or am I screwed?
Nobbins's Tileset Shoppe
It would mean that once a year, all of your female cats suddenly explode if there are any male cats around.

Angry Pierre

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Living in mountains
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2009, 10:28:34 pm »

You can trade for wood and food -- not sure how long it will be until you see a caravan though.

If there is harmless wildlife around, you can get a dwarf to hunt. You can butcher the critters he brings in, as well as your pets if need be until you see a caravan.

I haven't dealt with irrigation yet, but take a look at the DF wiki on irrigation.

Remove construction on your wagon for 3 pieces of wood -> 3 beds (I assume you still have the original 7 dwarves). They'll share until you get some more.

Good luck!

Nobbins

• Bay Watcher
  • Dustland
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2009, 10:57:32 pm »

I've already gotten the wagon-wood, made a two-story eleven-room fortress, each room 6x6, have two mason's workshops, a meeting hall, four dogs, and a barracks with three beds. The current problem is that I might run out of food soon.

Current dwarves:
Miner
Miner
Woodcutter
Carpenter
Mason
Farmer
Farmer/Brewer

EDIT: Nearest source of water is five levels down from my base and about 30 screens westward.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2009, 11:02:37 pm by Nobbins »
Nobbins's Tileset Shoppe