Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Chucking goblins in pits...help  (Read 635 times)

Dreadbeard

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Chucking goblins in pits...help
« on: November 20, 2009, 05:59:08 pm »

Greetings all, just starting on my first official fortress (after having done the Complete Newby guide, cheers Tiny Pirate), and I've built a drowning chamber that I would like to test out on a few of my uncooperative goblin guests. Can anyone walk me through the process? I so far have chucked a caged goblin into the pit, released a goblin via lever, who proceeded to make a break for it (but didn't get too far), and now I have built a cage b-j and got a goblin in a cage at the edge of my pit. How can I command a dwarf to take him out of the cage and chuck him in the pit? Many thanks for your help, and apologies for my density (-->uranium).

Dreadbeard

Grendus

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Chucking goblins in pits...help
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2009, 06:06:12 pm »

Designate a zone via the 'i' menu over the pit, then set it to be a pit via 'p' and hit 'P' to select something to be pitted. Select the goblin. Be sure to station some military nearby (preferably not marksdwarves) in case they break free, they occasionally do that. While the enemy is being hauled they won't react, but as soon as the thing escapes it's considered hostile again and dwarves will react accordingly.

If the enemy is someone dangerous like an axelord, you can dump their gear by designating the cage for dumping through d->b->d and then manually unmarking the cage via the 'k' menu. It's easier than it sounds, and once you get the keybinds memorized you can do all of this in seconds.
A quick guide to surviving your first few days in CataclysmDDA:
http://www.bay12forums.com/smf/index.php?topic=121194.msg4796325;topicseen#msg4796325

Dreadbeard

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile