Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Time in DF, particularly during worldgen  (Read 543 times)

skepticcs

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Time in DF, particularly during worldgen
« on: September 30, 2009, 03:29:05 pm »

I'm still pretty new to the game, but have spent a lot of time reading the forums. When discussing legends mode events and worldgen stuff, I've heard many players remark on stuff that happened x thousand years ago (have seen reference to 10,000 years or more of world gen) yet I thought worldgen stopped after only 200 years.

Is there a mod or change to the init file that allows people to gen for so long? Am I missing something? I think the idea of the world beginning only 100-200 years before you jump on the scene seems a little limited, so I would personally love to had a 1000+ year old world to step into. How is this possible?

Appologies for my ignorance.

Slogo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Time in DF, particularly during worldgen
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2009, 03:31:21 pm »

http://dwarffortresswiki.net/index.php/World_generation and http://dwarffortresswiki.net/index.php/Advanced_World_Generation

You have to tweak the world gen numbers. One of the most common reasons gen stops after 200 years is the game checks to see what % of megabeasts are alive and if the % is below a configurable value then it'll stop the generating so you have some left alive to play with.

Overspeculated

• Bay Watcher
  • euklid on pth
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2009, 04:20:45 pm »

I may be wrong, but a longer world gen doesn't add much, it just takes away. Less megabeasts will be alive, more civilisations will have been extinct etc.

skepticcs

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2009, 05:15:30 pm »

Thanks for the info, slogo!