Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: DF review; guidance needed  (Read 1431 times)

Loschmidt

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
DF review; guidance needed
« on: September 25, 2012, 01:49:17 am »

I’m writing a review of Dwarf Fortress for my soon to be existant blog. There are reviews of DF out there by people who’ve played a bit, and there are guides and things from people who’ve played a lot and there was that amazing NYT article that was more about Toady than the game. But I want to try for something else. We all know it takes years, multiple fortresses, hours on the wiki and a bit of forum lurking before you can finally start to wrap your head around the game.

Now that i’ve played and loved the game for years I want to write a review that helps describe to complete newbies that this is worth their time.

So anyway, I need the forum’s guidance. What are the things that best sum up the Dwarf Fortress experience?  We all know that it is hard to play DF to start with, so how do I describe to people that it is worth all that time and effort? What are the experiences that blow your mind?

Also, have you written reviews? Please link me to them :D

Cheers guys.

Trickman

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: DF review; guidance needed
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2012, 03:31:01 am »

I'd start by mentioning the fact that you get your own World, with its own history and geography, all for yourself.

Then, for fortress mode (which, I guess, will be your biggest concern here) I'd organize it in a way where you:

1. Describe what you want to do in a natural way.
2. Translate those orders into the game.

This should make your guide more easy-going, more atomized, and easier to look through. For instance: