Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: what's with my manager?  (Read 885 times)

Slayer

• Bay Watcher
  • [PREFSTRING:magma]
    • View Profile
what's with my manager?
« on: April 14, 2009, 10:38:00 am »

When I started playing this game I found that the manager is a big time saver (u then m) but once I got some migrants, it stops validating my commands. :( What do I do?
« Last Edit: September 21, 2010, 02:53:19 am by Slayer »
Derp.

FrickenMoron

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: manager
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2009, 10:45:11 am »

umm the manager ingame is one of your dwarfs. he needs an office to do so.
check the "n" screen.

Slayer

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: what's with my manager?
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2009, 10:46:29 am »

A woodcutter seems to hold all positions...
« Last Edit: September 21, 2010, 02:53:29 am by Slayer »
Derp.

Guy Montag

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: manager
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2009, 10:46:46 am »

After a fortress population of 20, the manager menu requires that a a manager administrator dwarf actually verfiy the order. This can take a while if the dwarf in the admin slot for "manager" is the mayor or another very busy dwarf.

I just learned to process all orders through the individual workshops and set the list of stuff I want them to do, and set them on repeat to avoid the delay the manager does.

The verification of the tasks in the manager screen actually generate an actual task your "City Manager" has to do. Thats usually your mayor at first.

The best bet is to assign a single guy with few labors enabled and a personality tag for intellectual pursuits and make him your manager. He should have nothing better to do then to validate your orders in his office.

He gets the "Organizer" skill for doing this.

FrickenMoron

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2009, 10:48:04 am »