Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Old games on the web  (Read 804 times)

MrGimp

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • WMP Web Design
Old games on the web
« on: November 28, 2010, 11:07:14 pm »

So Im a programmer.  I started out as C++ but Ive ended up in web programming.  I know XHTML/HTML5, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, and MySQL.  After becoming proficient in all those languages I have realized something, multiplayer support for simple games is actually...well....simple.  Games like civilization 1 and 2, master of orion 1 and 2, master of magic, could be remade and turned into massive multiplayer online games.  Basically I had the idea that these classic games are actually reproducable by one or two programmers given modern frameworks.  A small developer may not be able to replicate big modern day multimillion dollar titles, but HTML5 is being supported more and more now and it allows much better support for game development inside of web browsers.  So earlier era games are much more feasible, and if you slap in a multiplayer component, dont you have something interesting?