Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Military Problem.  (Read 937 times)

Gondovia

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Military Problem.
« on: November 25, 2008, 07:16:40 am »

I seem to be having a problem training everything other than marksdwarves and wrestlers.Every time I designate a dwarf to use a weapon he will , in a few moments , become a wrestler while he is sparring.I am fairly new to the game and any tips on this problem are welcome. ;D 

Il Palazzo

• Bay Watcher
  • And lo, the Dude did abide. And it was good.
    • View Profile
Re: Military Problem.
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2008, 07:40:23 am »

While sparring with weapons, dorfs train wrestling as well e.g. when dodging.
Now I vaguely recall reading somewhwere on the forum, that it's not healthy for your military to have dorfs with weapons train together with wrestlers as the later will try to grab the former, so then dorfs with weapons will train wrestling by trying to break the lock, and the more skiller the wrestler, the fewer oportunities to swing a weapon. I'm not sure if I didn't just invented this, though.
Still even if the above is true, your warriors should train said skills, but more slowly. Don't they get any wpn skill levels at all?

Gondovia

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2008, 07:46:29 am »

They get extremely little amounts.Such as one of my Champions had Dabbling Hammerdwarf but Legendary Wrestling.

Il Palazzo

• Bay Watcher
  • And lo, the Dude did abide. And it was good.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2008, 07:56:32 am »

well then, have you tried giving them all weapons to eliminate the possibility of what I mentioned before? Because that's the only thing I can think of.

Teeto_K

• Bay Watcher
  • Deforesting Woodland Biomes
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2008, 06:50:16 pm »