Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Mod Request/Idea: Dynamite  (Read 1311 times)

ChocoHearts

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Mod Request/Idea: Dynamite
« on: July 05, 2008, 04:00:05 pm »

I was thinking about how to get my dwarves out of the danger zone of a magma tunnel, and I came up with dynamite.

Would it be possible? I'm thinking it'd be a "building" that would either:
1) be timed to explode a certain number of ticks after it was set; or
2) linked to a lever or pressure plate, like a support (my favorite).

It'd be handy for those delicate water and/or magma breaches.

Of course, the explosion would be big:

Code: [Select]
before:
#####
#####
##!##
##.##
##.##

after:
#####
##.##
#...#
##.##
##.##

or maybe:
#####
#...#
#...#
#...#
##.##

#=wall
.=floor
!=dynamite

Anyway. I'm not a coder, so I dunno if it's possible. But there it is. Ideas? Thoughts? Ridicule? :D
Feeling dumb is just nature's way of telling you you're still learning.
Elfy McElf: We are here to hug trees and kill dwarves. And it's your fault we are all out of trees.

Fieari

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request/Idea: Dynamite
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2008, 04:30:24 pm »

This is beyond the scope of modding.  You can make things that explode, but you can't cause them to detonate without dropping magma (or something else on fire) on them, and the explosion won't damage the walls.

ChocoHearts

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2008, 04:46:31 pm »

That's what I was afraid of. Maybe sometime in the future - seems to me I recall hearing about burrowing creatures being in the plans? Maybe something could be done with that.

Oh well. Thanks!
Feeling dumb is just nature's way of telling you you're still learning.
Elfy McElf: We are here to hug trees and kill dwarves. And it's your fault we are all out of trees.

Untelligent

• Bay Watcher
  • I eat flesh!