Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Parsing world.dat  (Read 1375 times)

Riemann

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Parsing world.dat
« on: February 22, 2008, 07:02:00 pm »

It occured to me this week that in all the hours I've spent scrolling around world maps looking for start locations (even with regional_prospector) I could have just written a tool to do it. Damnit Jim, I'm a programmer not a map... looker ... guy.

Based on the info on Ricks page I've got a tool underway to decode world.dat with the intention of eventually making it able to search for locations on the world map that meet certain criteria.

So far (~3 hours into the project) it just opens the file, grabs each 20K chunk and deflates them into an output stream.

If this turns into something more useful I'll start posting source code. It's a damn big file though (that ~20 meg world.dat uncompresses to a good ~85 megs of data).

Edit: Forgot to metion, the code is entirely in C# 2.0 / .NET 3.0 with WPF as the UI.

[ February 22, 2008: Message edited by: Riemann ]

beorn080

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Parsing world.dat
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2008, 07:12:00 pm »

I know this is way down the road but If you could make it so it can deparse the data stream, you could make custom embark zones that contains chasms, above and under ground rivers, HFS, magma, and all the other goodies in one 2x3 spot and that would rock.
Ustxu Iceraped the Frigid Crystal of Slaughter was a glacier titan. It was the only one of its kind. A gigantic feathered carp composed of crystal glass. It has five mouths full of treacherous teeth, enormous clear wings, and ferocious blue eyes. Beware its icy breath! Ustxu was associated with oceans, glaciers, boats, and murder.

Riemann

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2008, 07:16:00 pm »