Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Error running Rick's utilities  (Read 606 times)

Juunana

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Error running Rick's utilities
« on: December 24, 2007, 07:34:00 am »

"Failed to find Dwarf Fortress."  That message has been vexing me of late, especially when there was no trouble with it before.  In an attempt to determine the cause I've tried running other utility programs and they work fine, and I had a friend try out my setup on his computer with no problem.  A problem with the address for the ini file and my computer?  I have no experience with this, so I must turn to you for help!

0x517A5D

• Bay Watcher
  • Hex Editor‬‬
    • View Profile
Re: Error running Rick's utilities
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2007, 12:41:00 am »

Okay, we need to know:
* the version of Dwarf Fortress.
* the utility name.
* the utility size in bytes (as a version check).
* the entire contents of the memory.ini you're using.
* what other utilities are working.

Due to a mistake of mine, the wiki's suggested .33g memory.ini was wrong for several hours.  If you are using .33g, deleting memory.ini and recreating it from the wiki page may work.

Juunana

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2007, 09:46:00 am »

But of course.  I am using version G of DF, and the related memory.ini file contents from the wiki page for reveal.exe and heal.exe.  Reveal is 129kb and heal is 145; both give the same error message.  In further testing, I was able to get the lava square and enable magma buildings utilities to work, as well as the wonderful regional prospector (which is basically what I was using reveal.exe for).  I am baffled.

0x517A5D

• Bay Watcher
  • Hex Editor‬‬
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2007, 02:31:00 pm »

Well, it seems that you're up-to-date.  This is puzzling.