Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: [Premium Dwarf Fortress] Can you add/remove CAN_LEARN on combat start/end?  (Read 579 times)

Chain

• Bay Watcher
  • When God closes a door, punch him through it!
    • View Profile

Hello I'm new to modding and am the Author of the Brave Cavies Steam Workshop mod.
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2904475791

Idea 1:
I did read through the modding wiki and examples and therefore think it is possible with a combination of interactions/syndromes, but I can't wrap my head around how to check for combat start and end to add or remove the token.

The Cavies should add to them selves the [CAN_LEARN] token when they enter combat, and after combat remove the token again. So they can breed like normal animals and also acquire skills through combat.

Idea 2:
Alternatively permanently adding CAN_LEARN to only War/Hunting animals. But I have even less of a clue if this is possible. I didn't see anything that lets me specify something like that in the Creature tokens.

I put my creature file in here as well so you see what I already have. The CAN_LEARN token gets removed from the file once I figured out how to do what I want.

Any insight and help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks

#EDIT: Current Creature TXT found below
« Last Edit: December 28, 2022, 04:24:53 am by Chain »

IndigoFenix

• Bay Watcher
  • All things die, but nothing dies forever.
    • View Profile
    • Boundworlds: A Browser-Based Multiverse Creation and Exploration Game
Re: [Premium Dwarf Fortress] Can you add/remove CAN_LEARN on combat start/end?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2022, 06:03:43 pm »

You can add a self-targeting interaction with USAGE_HINT:DEFEND which adds the CAN_LEARN tag for a short period of time.