Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: New Graphics Maker has So Many Questions  (Read 1514 times)

moosethelesser

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
New Graphics Maker has So Many Questions
« on: July 04, 2021, 10:34:18 pm »

Hi Everyone!  I'm new to this, and I'm starting to make a graphics pack, and I have a few questions.  I'm just working with vanilla DF currently.

1.  Does vanilla DF support transparent graphics?  If so, is that like an option I click on?

2.  Is there a reason no one makes graphics for corpses?  I looked through a few graphics sets, and I didn't see any.  Is it the transparency thing?

3.  Is there a place I can consistently see how my specific professions/child graphics look in-game?  Is that a setting in the object testing arena?

4.  I'm getting an issue where what I named [ALPACA] in my graphics.txt file shows up as a llama in object testing arena?  I'll put my raw folder in for smarter humans/dwarves to help with.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/hqackg0qy8ju17k/AADzn2OZgsCKt-ba3Bw5UDl2a?dl=0

Thank you ever so much for your help!  If you would like anything else from me (whole save file, address, bank info, SSN) let me know!

Ready, Willing, and Vaguely Competent

FantasticDorf

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: New Graphics Maker has So Many Questions
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2021, 04:44:17 am »

I dont graphic design personallly but i can try to answer some of these questions in a broad sense, you'd still need a fulltime spriter like meph or Vordak to answer indepth though.
1.  Does vanilla DF support transparent graphics?  If so, is that like an option I click on?