Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Complete noob gets interesting forgotten beasts in starting world.  (Read 1570 times)

Skadooshbag

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile

So yeah, I've never played this game before. I read the entirety of the game's tvtropes article, and decided that I'd give it a shot once I found some online tutorials. Once I generated my first world, I decided to check the historical figures to make sure there weren't any of those forgotten beasts made of steel.

I found quite a few interesting critters in the forgotten beast list; such as Bothonteling, a one-eyed mite with a fat bulging trunk; Simo, the feathered and emaciated pig with membranous, and even Ena, the gaunt mud blob (?)... but then we have Tad.

You're not a forgotten beast, Tad! You're just a fat scorpion! Stop pretending to be a Forgotten Beast so you can hang out with the cool kids, Tad! And lay off the big macs, you've gotten so fat that your exoskeleton is cracking form all the lard underneath, you loser!

tonnot98

• Bay Watcher
  • Damp stone located.
    • View Profile

Don't worry *too* much about steel FB's when making a fortress, they might never come. Though, if they *do* pay you a visit, you'd better hope you can seal yourself off from the caverns in time.

By the way, welcome to the forums!
Not sure if dying of old age is an honor or a shame for weaponmasters. On the one hand, it means they never got the opportunity to die in glorious battle. On the other hand, it means nothing could beat them in glorious battle.
Meow.

Skadooshbag

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile

I was actually thinking of sticking to adventure mode until I've gotten the hang of the basic mechanics. Managing a single person seems like it sould be easier than managing a whole city.

Bralbaard

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile