Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: A couple of questions from a complete noobie.  (Read 890 times)

Riky

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
A couple of questions from a complete noobie.
« on: September 20, 2017, 06:06:08 am »

Hello everyone  :)
I just started the game and enjoying it for about 1 week, but there is a couple of problems that I face and unfortunately I can't find answers on wiki/google.
1) For some reason my dwarfs do not work on some workshops, the reasons is "Stopped production: "X" " It happens when I manually add some tasks on the workshops. However, when I add this task from a manager it works. Any hints on how to fix it?
2) Almost the same problem with the smelter. When I ask dwarfs to smelt ore for some reason the do it VERY slow, 1-2 bars in entire day.
I do now that smelters need charcoal and an ore, but both of stockpiles were located on another floor.
In that playthrough  I also had no idea about wheelbarrows, it might be somehow connected with the problems. Just keep in mind that I don't have any experience in DF and the solution is probably the most obvious one.
3) Is there any indicators to know if my pasture big enough for my pets to have a long and happy life? How do I know if there is enough space for everyone?

P.S. Thank you very much for answers, I highly appreciate that!

mikekchar

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: A couple of questions from a complete noobie.
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2017, 06:44:21 am »

1) Don't know.  Never seen that before (if I understand the question).