Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Encrust finished goods  (Read 4343 times)

Frectorius

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Encrust finished goods
« on: March 30, 2017, 01:49:32 am »

Hello Everybody

I am new to Dwarf Fortress and I like the game a lot <3
I have some problems with the gem setting skill. In my gem stockpile I have lots of cut gems. Now I want to encrust some finished goods (mostly mugs or a crown) with the gems. But I always get the error massage, that I do not have finished goods, although I have planty of finished goods in my finished goods stockpile.

Are there only certain types of finished goods, that can be encrusted with gems like rings or cepters? How do I get my gem setting Dwarf to work?

Greetings

Thisfox

• Bay Watcher
  • Vixen.
    • View Profile
Re: Encrust finished goods
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2017, 03:17:24 am »

All finished goods (including goblets, ropes, books, and quivers) can be encrusted with gems.

Your problem is probably linked stockpiles, but it could be burrows or bins.

Linked stockpiles: If the jewellers workshop is near the finished goods stockpile, it should be able to access it, so probably, you've got the stockpile set up to give to something other than your jewellers workshop, or your workshop not "taking" from that stockpile. Check the stockpile isn't linked to anything, and remove all linkages. Best idea: Make a new finished goods stockpile with no linkages at all, and allowing no bins, near to the jewellers shop, and let it accumulate goods. Then the jeweller should be able to do his job.

Bins are a problem, sometimes, if the dwarves are putting things in them, the jeweller can't see the things in the bin, and says there aren't any. I avoid putting bins in my near-jeweller-finished-goods-stockpile for that reason.

Burrows are not my speciality, but if you're using them, they could interfere.