Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Doubts about making a creature from scratch  (Read 873 times)

Bhalandros

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Doubts about making a creature from scratch
« on: July 29, 2016, 02:15:38 pm »

Waddup.
Well, I'm VERY new to modding, and it's been a while since i've been trying to figure out how to make something, and I cannot for the life of me understand how anything works with the guides, because they teach you specific things that don't apply to what I want.

I have tried working on an already done thing, (so it's easier?) so I started with a cool idea I had in mind. I copied the raws for the dwarf creature, and started working on it. My idea is: A dwarf made of rock with molten metal (or lava) for blood. I just have the idea, and I've been trying to figure out how detail plans work, but I can't.

My question is: How do. Is it necessary to use detail plans? Can't I just choose materials individually? Etc.

(Also, I want the creature to be playable on adventure mode, but I don't want it to exist outside it, as in i'm the only one, so that's a thing I want to do too)

I want to make sure everyone understands I'm not asking for someone to make this for me, I just want to know how do I make this, like a training exercise. If you REALLY want to do it go ahead, but I would really appreciate instructions on how to make it happen myself.

Thanks for the help guys, appreciate it. (Sorry if bad english)

(I'm just going to leave this here)
« Last Edit: July 29, 2016, 04:01:58 pm by Bhalandros »

Dunamisdeos

• Bay Watcher
  • Duggin was the hero we needed.
    • View Profile
Re: Doubts about making a creature from scratch
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2016, 03:38:52 pm »

Well, you'd probably want to make the creature fixed_temp or something, because as soon as it bleeds it's going to melt itself (unless that's totally your thing, I don't know).