Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Reanimated head skin == fort death  (Read 3581 times)

Iamblichos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Reanimated head skin == fort death
« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2016, 01:45:37 pm »

The chances of encountering fire-breathing steel spiders is nil on a new fort; animated head skin is around 75+%.

Not sure why you are so determined it's not a bug...?
I'm new to succession forts in general, yes, but do all forts designed by multiple overseers inevitably degenerate into a body-filled labyrinth of chaos and despair like this? Or is this just a Battlefailed thing?

There isn't much middle ground between killed-by-dragon and never-seen-by-dragon.

PatrikLundell

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: June 25, 2016, 02:30:20 pm »

If "fire-breathing steel spiders" is some mod, I have no idea. If it's an FB the HUGE difference is that FBs don't spawn in the middle of the fortress, and at a fair rate at that. Stuff on the outside can be avoided, prepared for, and dealt with, while lightning strikes in the civilian heart of the fortress can be dealt with only to a limited extent (you can, of course, prepare to cave-in the work shops at risk if you don't care about civilian casualties. Even easier is to have each workshop inside lockable doors and accept the loss of the civilian(s) affected at a regular rate. You can then use cages or atom smashers to cage/trap the resulting undead and the causing hair/skin as they emerge. Many players care about their dorfs, though).

Fleeting Frames

• Bay Watcher
  • Spooky cart at distance
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: June 25, 2016, 04:37:40 pm »

Yes, FB/Titan. My usual practice in defence planning is assume the worst × bad thing can happen and then prepare for it, so to not plan for one is definitely an unexpected answer.