Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: New to Modding (and Dwarf Fortress) A tiny XXmodXX  (Read 1007 times)

Captinfannin

• Escaped Lunatic
  • Caution ruined my FUN
    • View Profile
New to Modding (and Dwarf Fortress) A tiny XXmodXX
« on: June 18, 2015, 07:33:49 pm »

So, I'm new to Dwarf Fortress, and after my first Fort I decided to take a look at the modding for my next fort because it seemed easy, at least easier than learning a programming language to mod another game. The result is very mundane, a made a simple mod that allows the creation of "dwarven steel", an improved (I hope and overpowered?) version of steel, a plant which is used in making the steel, and a new weapon, the caestus, which is basically a ancient lethal boxing glove. If anyone here would like to try this out and give me a bit of feedback, I'd appreciate it. Not that I'm planning turning this into a serious mod, of course. Do it at your own risk, I've barely attempted to balance it, I wouldn't be surprised if the metal and the weapon are super OP or weak. I have been told the metal is a bit too strong. All the IDs have _CPTNF and I didn't change any of the base raws (besides enabling the content for the civs,) so it should work with anything.

Additions

Midnight Root - Uncommon-ish Underground Plant with a high value. Takes a year to grow. Not edible, but can be made into alcohol as dwarven black beer an milled into a inedible powder, Midnight Dust, used in making Dwarven Steel. Low burning points, high heat damage resist.

Dwarven Steel- Improved Version of Steel (hopefully which is overpowered?) made by sprinkling some magic Midnight Dust over molten steel bars, or something of the like. 3 Steel Bars + 1 Midnight Dust + Fuel at a smelter = 3 Dwarven Steel Bars. Can be used for everything steel can.