Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Educational Dillema  (Read 783 times)

3man75

• Bay Watcher
  • I will fire this rocket
    • View Profile
Educational Dillema
« on: June 28, 2015, 06:34:38 pm »

I am an American College Student who as recently decided to go into the computer field with an emphasis in IT (Information technlology). That said, I have been changing my mind from psychology to economics (I beleive that my old posts can still be found) to where I am now.

I currently have 31 credit hours and while most of them are for Gen. Education some were geared towards a degree in psychology. My school offers an IT associates but has a 63 credit hour requirement which means I may be short on Pell grants to reach my AA now that its much later in the game. My question is if I get my degree in psychology with computer science credits in their will I be able to get a bachelors in IT later at a university?

More specifically:

Can I go from an AA in one field to a Bachelors to another field if I meet said fields pre-reqs?

Jo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Educational Dillema
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2015, 09:58:35 pm »

I'm not sure you are fully understanding your question, but the answer is yes.

It doesn't matter what your associates is in, you can go to a university and get a degree in computer science if you want.

There are some issues though. A bachelor's degree will have a certain set of requirements that change from school to school, and also each college will allow some things to transfer but not other things.

You might transfer to a university after you get an associates and find out that your credits all transfer as general, and you end up having to take all the technical classes again anyway.