Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: College aka High School 2: Electric Boogaloo  (Read 964 times)

Humdilla

• Bay Watcher
  • Go Action Bastard Anti-Enema Beam!
    • View Profile
College aka High School 2: Electric Boogaloo
« on: March 11, 2014, 01:25:27 am »

Hey all! Just wanted to share my opinions about college and see how other people felt about college.

So I'm studying computer science at UMass Amherst and I have to say that college so far (I'm almost done with my sophomore year) is really similar to high school. They make me take classes I do not wish to take (Philosophy, Psychology, Geoscience  which is basically just fucking World News, English which I know is important but my English skills haven't changed in years, no matter how many classes I take. Just let it be dammit!) The courses are super disorganized (I actually think some of my high school classes were better.) Seriously, my exam dates aren't given to me until a few days prior and the projects they have us work on are always flawed so they have to make changes half way through and then just count the project as extra credit even though I spent hours on it (and then there was the project with an almost identical name and outline that I missed because I thought they were the same fucking project  >:( but I guess that's my bad) The majority of the students don't act any different from high school students (Same amount of stupid B.S. Just look at the news. Haven't we got the most mature students out there?  ::))

But college is so much worse than high school. They force you to buy a bunch of books for the classes you aren't really interested in taking (which I refuse to do. I'm not buying your psych book for 70$ when I could really give two shits about psych.) The work load is godawful because of the disorganization and the courses are inconsistent with their structure. Example: