Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Dwarves and fast trade-depot filling  (Read 782 times)

saharo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Dwarves and fast trade-depot filling
« on: January 18, 2008, 02:21:00 pm »

Is it possible to give a global order like "to everyone who can haul items: stop immediatly what you are doing, and trasport things to the trade depot"
I'm a total newby and it's the second time that merchants go away because I couldn't have my wares on the depot in time.
I read carefully everything about trade on the wiki and searched in this forum, but I couldn't find an answer.

Thanks in advance

Sofaspud

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Dwarves and fast trade-depot filling
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2008, 02:27:00 pm »

Not exactly, but you can make sure you have your preferences and job settings set up correctly to make it more likely that your stuff will get there in time.

First off, it sounds like you've got dwarves busy doing other things, as that's the only reason I can think of why you'd have trouble getting stuff to the depot in time.  Stuff like picking up exposed ore (if you have an ore stockpile) seems to take priority over hauling finished goods.  So you could (for example) forbid all the exposed ore when you notice the merchants arrive on the map, and then reclaim it later.

Another option would be to set up some dedicated haulers, and make sure they aren't busy hauling stone instead of crafts (turn off Stone Hauling for them when the merchants appear).

Also, you might consider widening pathways to your depot, if the problem is dwarves crawling over each other or animals.  That creates TREMENDOUS slowdown, since only one dwarf may walk through a square at any time; every other dwarf has to lay down for the first one to squeeze by.