Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: HFS reclaim questions (possible spoilers)  (Read 1265 times)

Kerine

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
HFS reclaim questions (possible spoilers)
« on: August 08, 2013, 11:58:59 am »

Hello. This is my first time on these forums so if this is in the wrong place tell me?

So I was playing my first somewhat successful fortress that I had started for the purpose of figuring out HFS since the wiki had told me it was major spoilers. I dug up a bunch of adamantine and found it, then nearly all of my dwarves were killed by either demons or invading goblins. For some reason though the demons ignored to unconscious dwarves that were in comas above ground or off of the top floor of my fortress. I waited two seasons with no migrants, then I gave up.

When I then immediately reclaimed the fortress, all of the demons were still inside the fortress rather than outside. I figured the reason must be that the demons couldn't go outside (they had ignored dwarves trying to grab goblin bodies from my main fortress until they reached the stairs too), so I decided to try to figure out how to collapse the ground around my stairs to allow my new dwarves access to my underground water supply. As soon as I got rid of the floor I had built over the stircase a demon came out and started killing dwarves. Now i'm walled in my fortress with a demon wandering outside.

My questions to you are:

1. If I had waited longer before abandoning would migrants have eventually come?
2. Why didn't the demons go attack other dwarves outside (or even inside but on the first floor of) my fortress?
3. How do I get rid of the demon running around outside and use the outside again without more demons coming out to kill my dwarves?

Thanks in advance for any and all help.
-Kerine

Dwarf Kitty

• Bay Watcher
  • Seeking owner to adopt
    • View Profile