Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Best Lets Play Videos and tutorials  (Read 840 times)

guessingo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Best Lets Play Videos and tutorials
« on: July 31, 2013, 10:37:33 am »

Im a newb and I use Lazy Newb pack. Been around a while. I play off and on. Its hard learning the mechanics. The lets play videos are very long. Which ones or one do you think is the best? If I want to just learn the game mechanics so its not all greek to me. It actually takes motivation for me to learn this difficult of a game. I think once I learn the basics it will be more fun, now its well work and the game is rather tedious.

I did like parts of the Masterwork DF Lets Play since thats the first one to explain the optimization feature in Dwarf Therapist. Im sticking with the vanilla game if your wondering.

Also, What should my primary goals be early? I do a very slow start because I am constantly pausing the game to look things over. The interface alone is difficult to get a hang of.

The application I use mainly with the game is Dwarf Therapist. Should I be  using anything else to make the game more playable (I do use tiles).

How do you guys focus on what is going on? There is so much to look at. Its easy to miss when something bad happens. I believe Masterwork DF has a better system to alert you to things you need to look at. Do you guys constantly pause the game also to verify what is going on?

« Last Edit: July 31, 2013, 10:39:31 am by guessingo »

Laurin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Best Lets Play Videos and tutorials
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2013, 11:17:39 am »

The let's play tuts are long, because the do just a normal game, only explaining a lot of stuff.
Lot's of it you won't need to start your own fortress.