Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: How do I change tiles? Is it a bad idea?  (Read 668 times)

Wicked

• Bay Watcher
  • The older I get, the better I was.
    • View Profile
How do I change tiles? Is it a bad idea?
« on: July 11, 2013, 10:44:53 pm »

Hi.
 I started playing a few days ago, using the "Utterly newbie" guides by Tiny Pirate. Then I changed to v0.34.11 when I realised that the version that came from following the guides, was old.
I find I liked the graphics of the old version better than what I have now. Can I change them by copying the tiles from the old version to the new?
 Are there better (whoops, that is a value judgement) - uh - other tile sets that are available? If so where? And what do I do if I find some I like?

Also, while I am here, is there consensus on a best version to learn on?

I can see the rest of my life disappearing into this game if I am not careful, so I will probably be here again.

Cheers
« Last Edit: July 11, 2013, 10:46:33 pm by Wicked »
If builders built buildings the way programmers write programs, the first woodpecker that came along would destroy civilisation

Dangerous Beans

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: How do I change tiles? Is it a bad idea?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2013, 11:02:28 pm »

your best bet might be to get the lazy noob pack with Phoebus installed.
there is a list of graphic sets on the wiki (http://dfweb3.dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/Graphics_set_repository#Phoebus.27_Graphics_Pack). i have no idea how complete it is.

edit; hmm, that's not quite right.
you'll also need a tileset (http://dfweb3.dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/DF2012:Tileset_repository#Phoebus). there is more general info on the wiki (http://dfweb3.dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/Tilesets).

i really recommend the lazy noob pack, it makes it all much easier.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2013, 11:05:01 pm by Dangerous Beans »

ORCACommander