Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Critique my noob layout!  (Read 460 times)

dimdem

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Critique my noob layout!
« on: October 10, 2007, 07:49:00 am »

Hi folks!  I'm fairly new to the game - I've only played DF couple times so far.  I've tried reading the wiki as much as possible, and I think I have a decent grasp of how most things work, but one thing I need is to improve my layout.

I started working with 6x6 rooms, and then evolved this into a structure composed of 7x7 cells in order to keep things organized.  I wanted a fortress in the area between river and chasm, and here's a rough layout that I came up with:

:)  

So... do you all have any tips?  I'd appreciate all the help you can offer!

elipsis

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Critique my noob layout!
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2007, 09:18:00 am »

I'd swap out the door stone fall traps for weapon traps using trap specific weapons. my personal favorite are the spike balls as they don't leave terrible messes to clean up.  I suggest this because eventualy you'll get creeping goblin theives and over time stone fall traps can consume a LOT of time for mechanics to keep ready. Plus nobles actually work and clean the weapon traps.   :D   likewise if you chain a war dog near the entrance it'll take care of kobold thieves.

BurnedToast

• Bay Watcher
  • Personal Text
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2007, 10:13:00 am »

You will almost certainly hit a river/chasm extension digging that much up and down so plan for it. Also I doubt you will have enough room between the river and chasm to build all that (though I'm not going to count the squares to be sure). you have (IIRC) between 50 and 100 spaces between the river and the chasm, depending on how it bends if you want to count it yourself.